Last term, Cristiano Ronaldo matched Andrés Iniesta and Clarence Seedorf in becoming the third player to win the UEFA Champions League four times since the competion’s inception in 1992/93.

Should Ronaldo make it to four triumphs in the space of five seasons when his side take on Liverpool in Kyiv, the 33-year-old will have five UEFA Champions League winners’ medals, having started his collection with Manchester United in 2008.

Ronaldo’s UEFA Champions League wins
2007/08 (Manchester United)
2013/14 (Real Madrid)
2015/16 (Real Madrid)
2016/17 (Real Madrid)

Iniesta and Seedorf are the only other players to have matched Ronaldo’s feat, the Dutchman also being the sole man to have played in final victories with three different clubs.

Watch five great Iniesta goals

Iniesta’s UEFA Champions League wins
2005/06 (Barcelona)
2008/09 (Barcelona)
2010/11 (Barcelona)
2014/15 (Barcelona)

Seedorf’s UEFA Champions League wins
1994/95 (Ajax)
1997/98 (Real Madrid)
2002/03 (Milan)
2006/07 (Milan)

Three other players have four UEFA Champions League titles to their name but took part in only three finals themselves:

Xavi Hernández: 2006*, 2009, 2011, 2015 (Barcelona)
Lionel Messi: 2006*, 2009, 2011, 2015 (Barcelona)
Gerard Piqué: 2008*, 2009, 2011, 2015 (Manchester United, Barcelona)

*did not play in the final

Source link