European Cup-World Cup double winners

1974: Sepp Maier, Paul Breitner, Hans-Georg Schwarzenbeck, Franz Beckenbauer, Gerd Müller, Uli Hoeness (Bayern & West Germany)
: Christian Karembeu (Real Madrid & France)
: Roberto Carlos (Real Madrid & Brazil)

To qualify, players must have featured in both winning finals. It’s an elite club which Sami Khedira so nearly joined four years ago, an injury in the warm-up preventing him from turning out for Germany in their FIFA World Cup final win against Argentina. He had won the UEFA Champions League less than two months earlier.

Final highlights: Real Madrid 3-1 Liverpool

Madrid are European champions once more following their triumph over Liverpool in Kyiv.

Which Madrid players can win a UEFA Champions League-World Cup double this summer?

Casemiro (BRA), Marcelo (BRA), Modrić (CRO), Navas (CRC), Varane (FRA), Kroos (GER), Ronaldo (POR), Asensio (ESP), Carvajal (ESP),  Isco (ESP), Nacho (ESP), Ramos (ESP)

By national team

Casemiro (Real Madrid), Marcelo (Real Madrid)

Navas (Real Madrid)

Modrić (Real Madrid)

Raphaël Varane with the trophy in Kyiv

Raphaël Varane with the trophy in Kyiv©AFP/Getty Images

Varane (Real Madrid)

GERMANY (holders)
Kroos (Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Asensio (Real Madrid), Carvajal (Real Madrid), Isco (Real Madrid), Nacho (Real Madrid), Ramos (Real Madrid)

A number of other Madrid players are also going to the World Cup but did not feature in the Kyiv final so do not qualify here. Karim Benzema and Gareth Bale are the only two players who did play for Madrid in the Ukrainian capital but will not be in Russia.

European Cup-EURO double winners

Watch highlights of the EURO 2016 final

Watch highlights of the EURO 2016 final

1964: Luis Suárez (Internazionale & Spain)
1988: Hans van Breukelen, Ronald Koeman, Berry van Aerle, Gerald Vanenburg (PSV & Netherlands)
2012: Fernando Torres, Juan Mata (Chelsea & Spain)
2016: Cristiano Ronaldo, Pepe (Real Madrid & Portugal)

A handful more endured bittersweet Khedira-like experiences. Wim Kieft lifted the 1988 European Cup with PSV but did not make it off the bench with the Netherlands in the 1988 UEFA European Championship final. Real Madrid’s Nicolas Anelka met the same fate with France in 2000, while team-mate Christian Karembeu fared slightly worse – he was an unused squad member in the finals of both the 2000 UEFA Champions League and UEFA EURO 2000 (though he had been on the pitch to win both the UEFA Champions League and the 1998 World Cup two summers before).

Source link