With one more game of the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League group stage, Lionel Messi is clinging on to his position at the top of the all-time group stage goalscorers leaderboard, but his place looks vulnerable.

Seeking to finish as group stage top scorer for a sixth time, Ronaldo is just one adrift of Messi’s all-time record of 60 group stage goals. Should the Argentinian fail to score at home against Sporting CP on matchday six, Ronaldo will take his record with two more goals in Real Madrid’s home match against Borussia Dortmund.

A hat-trick, meanwhile, would also enable him to match the group stage scoring record he set in 2015/16 – and (provided his great rival does not hit three first) to move ahead of Messi in the all-time UEFA Champions League hat-tricks ranking. Both have scored seven each for now.

2017/18 group stage top scorers
8 Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
6 Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
6 Wissam Ben Yedder (Atlético Madrid)
6 Edinson Cavani (Paris Saint-Germain)
6 Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)

Watch every one of Messi’s 100 European goals

All-time group stage top scorers
60 Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
59 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Real Madrid)
40 Karim Benzema (Lyon, Real Madrid)
32 Zlatan Ibrahimović (Ajax, Juventus, Internazionale Milano, Barcelona, AC Milan, Paris, Manchester United)
29 Raúl González (Real Madrid, Schalke)
26 Edinson Cavani (Napoli, Paris Saint-Germain)
25 Sergio Agüero (Atlético Madrid, Manchester City)
25 Didier Drogba (Marseille, Chelsea, Galatasaray)
25 Robert Lewandowski (Borussia Dortmund, Bayern München)
25 Ruud van Nistelrooy (PSV Eindhoven, Manchester United, Real Madrid, Hamburg)

Ronaldo? Messi? Neymar? Who will you pick in your Team of the Year?

Ronaldo? Messi? Neymar? Who will you pick in your Team of the Year?

Top group stage scorers by season
2016/17 – 10: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2015/16 – 11: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2014/15 – 9: Luiz Adriano (Shakhtar Donetsk)
2013/14 – 9: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2012/13 – 6= Burak Yilmaz (Galatasaray), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2011/12 – 6= Mario Gomez (Bayern München), Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2010/11 – 7: Samuel Eto’o (Internazionale Milano)
2009/10 – 6: Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
2008/09 – 5= Karim Benzema (Lyon), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Klose (Bayern München), Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
2007/08 – 5= Zlatan Ibrahimović (Internazionale Milano), Ronaldo (Man. United)
2006/07 – 5= Didier Drogba (Chelsea), Kaká (AC Milan), Fernando Morientes (Valencia)
2005/06 – 6: Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan)
2004/05 – 8: Ruud van Nistelrooy (Man. United)
2003/04 – 5= Didier Drogba (Marseille), Roy Makaay (Bayern München), Dado Pršo (Monaco), Hakan Şükür (Galatasaray)
2002/03* – 8= Hernán Crespo (Internazionale Milano), Filippo Inzaghi (AC Milan)
2001/02* – 6= Giovane Elber (Bayern München), David Trezeguet (Juventus)
2000/01* – 6= Rivaldo (Barcelona), Marco Simone (Monaco)
1999/2000* – 5= Mário Jardel (Porto), Rivaldo (Barcelona)
1998/99 – 7: Zahovič (Porto)
1997/98 – 6: Thierry Henry (Monaco)
1996/97 – 4= Alen Bokšić (Juventus), Artur (Porto), Mário Jardel (Porto), Milinko Pantić (Atlético Madrid), Diego Simeone (Atlético Madrid), Marco Simone (AC Milan)
1995/96 – 6: Jari Litmanen (Ajax)
1994/95 – 6: George Weah (Paris Saint-Germain)
1993/94 – 4: Wynton Rufer (Werder Bremen)
1992/93 – 5: Franck Sauzée (Marseille)

*first group stage only

Source link